A-Z Blogging Challenge 2014 – B


B

B is for Broken

In the dictionary, the word broken is defined as: separated into parts or pieces by being hit, damaged, etc. : not working properly. : not kept or honored.

I want to speak to that last one… not kept or honored.

We all make promises, every single day… whether they be to ourselves or others; we make promises. And I’ve noticed that we’re less likely to feel bad about breaking them these days. We don’t seem to be bothered by breaking even the most solemn of promises to each other – or to God.

And we are all guilty of it. The Bible says that broken promises are worse that clouds that don’t bring rain.

Proverbs 25: 14 Like clouds and wind without rain
    is a man who boasts of a gift he does not give.

Now, what does that mean? Does it mean that if we break a promise to someone, ourselves… GOD; Can we be forgiven? Do we still deserve His love and mercy? Are we still on the path to heaven? Even if we’ve divorced (some of us more than once), lied on our taxes, cheated on our spouses… can we still be forgiven?

Well, yes… of course we can! The Bible does not say that God withholds forgiveness for these things. God withholds forgiveness from noone who seeks His face. One need only to ask.

There is another type of broken. The kind of broken we feel when a promise to us is not fulfilled. The kind of broken we feel when someone we love passes away. The kind of broken we feel when God puts us on our knees with an overwhelming need to pray.

I’ve been on both ends of this word, and I’ll have to say that I don’t feel good about either of them. I don’t wallow in the sorrow of the promises that were made and not kept to me… and I don’t wallow in the guilt and self recrimination of the promises I have broken to others.

I have asked forgiveness for the wrongs I have committed. I have forgiven those who have committed wrongs against me. I love everyone the way I have been commanded to do.

I am living my life full, fulfilled and free. And it is an amazing feeling.

Happy B Day!

 

2 thoughts on “A-Z Blogging Challenge 2014 – B

  1. hello! I’m popping in from the A-Z challenge. I love your scriptures and that you are looking for healing and what God has next for you. I love connecting with other believers in the blogosphere! I did not find a way to follow your page here, so I liked your facebook page. Then I can check in now and then. Come visit me, if you’d like: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Adventures-in-the-Ballpark-Marianne-Ball/394038163950377?ref=tn_tnmn
    Or on my blog: http://adventuresintheballpark.blogspot.com

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

