Writers Workshop May 2


Wow, May already! I spent so much time focusing on the A-Z Challenge last month that I didn’t even notice the entire thing just slip away!

So… here were on Thursday – linking up with Mama Kat, for her “Pretty Much World Famous”  writers workshop!

You might think about joining the fun yourself – there is still plenty of time! Hop on over here:

 

Mama’s Losin’ ItOk, so this weeks prompts were:

1.) How old were you? Share one of the first news stories you remember caring about.
2.) Write a list of things you would have done differently online, know what you now know about blogging and social media.
3.) Chances are you’ve heard of the Reasons My Son Is Crying tumblr page…write your own version.
4.) Share something that makes you laugh.
5.) Refreshments anyone? Prepare a drink for us and share the recipe!

 

I chose 1. How old were you?

The first news story I truly remember caring about broke on my mother’s birthday; January 28, 1986. I remember it very, very well.

You see, my mom’s sister G and her husband D worked for Allied Bendix Corporation… they held the contract to do all of the tracking of space missions. They were there that day. They lived in Sanford, just a few miles from Kennedy Space Center.

I had heard the hype leading up to the mission, and was looking forward to seeing the first “Teacher in Space” right along with the rest of the world. I still have copies of the newspapers from both my home town in Fort Myers, and the ones my aunt saved from Sanford too.

Living in Florida it really was devastating to us; and knowing someone who worked on the mission… that was even more so. I have followed the news to this day about the mission. Including the conspiracy theories. (Yes, believe it or not – there are some)

I sat in the gymnasium at my school… and watched on what served as a “big screen” in 1986… as tragedy unfolded. I heard my science teacher remark “That’s not okay” when the solid rocket booster exploded… and I remember when I stopped remembering the events of the day… because they were too painful.

Growing up the coolest thing ever at school was “Show & Tell” day… of course this eventually evolved into reports about things… but I always got to bring things my Aunt G had sent me from other countries. Usually, they were ornate dolls dressed in the traditional clothing of their country of origin.  Because she traveled so much, I own several Korean dolls in various traditional dress, including Wedding Dolls. I own a chunk of the Jerusalem wall said to be constructed of sand and egg whites; also a very ornately carved wooden camel.

I had lots of cool stories to tell because each item always came with a handwritten note from my aunt, explaining where they came from, what they were made of, the significance of the clothing; or in the case of the amazingly carved bamboo scenes how long it took to hand carve…

Everything she did was amazing and cool to me, so it was only natural that I wanted to work for NASA and become an astronaut. I wanted it with everything I had. But then, I got pregnant young, and didn’t think that dragging a baby through all of that would be appropriate.

So… yeah, Challenger is the first news story that I truly remember affecting me.

Join the fun! Follow the link above and post your favorite of the prompts.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writers Workshop May 2

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

