A-Z Blogging Challenge – April 25


a-to-z-letters-v

 

V is for Victory

Sweet, sweet victory. Victory over my depression, anxiety, and the  majority of my pain. Victory over feeling as if nothing I did mattered. Victory over being unhappy.

Victory.

Just as in war, life’s victories are bittersweet. In this quest for a happier more satisfying life for myself, I’ve lost dear friends. However, as I’ve always tried to do, I have to follow my grandpa’s advice and keep my sunny side up. I have to take the victory as it is, pure and unblemished and love it. I cannot look back upon the battlefield of “what was” and regret my choices.

I can, and indeed do, feel bad about the loss of these people from my life. However, it is a choice they made, not I. I have remained, and will remain available to any and all of them.

I must look at the victory of finding a new, and very dear friend… that I can honestly say, with knowledge and conviction, that she has my back no matter what… and I’ve got hers… to the end. Thelma and Louise, Maverick and Goose….

I must look at the victory of having a job that I enjoy. I make money to talk to elderly people all day… uh… sure – pay me… where’s the overtime boss?

I must look at the victory of reclaiming a lost love, and learning a lot about myself in the process. My life has come full circle… and I look forward to each new day with renewed joy in my heart… life doesn’t get any better than this.

I have so many victories over my own self and the stuff I got stuck in; it would take days to write them all down.

Celebrate victory. Reach for victory.

What little victories do you see in your life?

A note from the Author:

Hey guys! Wow, I guess you noticed the mass of posting I’ve done this morning! Sorry about that – somehow my auto publish didn’t go off as scheduled… and I was left with several days of no posts. It’s all fixed now, so “on with the regularly scheduled programming”; or something like that!

I also want to take a moment to say thank you to all of you who have stopped and commented. I have had such a warm and loving response from you all, and for that I am very grateful. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!! Especially those of you who have come back time and again, and never seem to tire of reading the words I post. Y’all are too kind. 🙂

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

