A-Z Blog Challenge – April 18


a-to-z-letters-p

P is for Pain

This is not an easy post. I talk about pain here and there on the blog… but for the most part I don’t get too personal about pain around here. Mostly, because its a way of life for me.

Twelve years ago I started out having pain in my shoulders, hands, wrists, and neck. They determined that I had two bulging discs in my neck, and that they could “fix it” with drugs. Fifty pounds, ten prescriptions, and six steroid injections later, I was no better. It was ruled out that it was rheumatoid arthritis, Lupus, or MS. It was “diagnosed” as bursitis, arthritis, and “nerve damage”…

I wound up losing my job… well, lets just say i lost a lot of things during this time period – and a bit of my dignity went along for the ride.

Anyway… fast forward a few years and I meet this awesome PA who shall forever remain “The PA“… and he looks me over… and gives me a diagnosis that finally made sense… Fibromyalgia. Did you know that chronic bronchitis and pneumonia are symptoms of fibro? Neither did I till I met The PA.

So, I’ve learned over the years to manage it… live with it… function to the best of my ability. I don’t talk a lot about it because I choose not to focus on it – it’s not who or what I am… I  manage with natural supplements, exercise, and diet.  I very rarely take prescriptions… although the klonopin that I am prescribed does make sleeping a bit easier – and waking up less of an ordeal…

But with everything that is negative I have to take the “is what it is” stand… and move on.

I cannot let my life pass me by because of pain. I won’t allow the pain to control me… I will find ways to control it – safely and naturally.

 

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

