A-Z Blogging Challenge – April 17


a-to-z-letters-o

O is for Optimism

 

The well used glass half full/half empty analogy comes to mind when writing this post. I am a glass half full kind of girl, always have been. My grandfather made sure of that. Any time anything in my life went wrong – grandaddy was always there telling me to “keep my sunny side up”.

I’ve always tried to find the good in everything and everyone. Sometimes trusting too much and getting bit for it – but through it all I’ve stayed optimistic. I’ve been through my bout with depression, and I think the thing that hit me the hardest was the loss of that optimism. I tried hard to look on the sunny side of things, but I couldn’t find a sunny side.

When that realization hit me, I decided I had to make some changes. I had to get out of the funk and start looking up, to the sunny side of things. I had the power to change things that made me unhappy, why wasn’t I using it?

Partly because when you get stuck in a comfortable situation, you really are stuck. Finding your way out of it is never easy.

Partly because I didn’t really see other options. Sometimes you are so deeply entrenched in your own misery you don’t see the window open on the other side of the room.

Now, I see things in the right way again. I made the hard choices. I did the things that made me uncomfortable. I stepped out of the box and into the sun.

Always remember that things can get better when you put the effort into them.

Keep your sunny side up!

So, is your glass half full? Half Empty? Did you drink it? Or is it laying on the floor smashed in a  million pieces?

One thought on “A-Z Blogging Challenge – April 17

  1. I can relate to your post. I’ve been in a depressed funk before and nothing could pull me out of it until one day I said , I don’t want to be here anymore and that’s when change came. It happens differently for everyone however you do have to get up and make and effort to do something different. Im happy for you! I hope you always see the good and the positive in life and keep growing and moving forward!

    Life is not easily lived all the time! It can get to us but hopefully it won’t get the best of us!! Peace!

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

