A-Z Blogging Challenge – April 16


a-to-z-letters-n

N is for No

You know, if there is one thing I’ve learned from all of this… it’s how to say No. Not just No, but Hell No. I’ve been accused of many things the past few months as the bitterness of the situation boiled over – with friends and others. I’ve admitted my faults in the situation openly and honestly here. 

No. 

It’s a powerful word. 

It means that I won’t participate. I won’t be there. I’m not giving/doing anything in the situation. Not something I like to say often, but something that’s necessary. It’s something that I have to say if I’m going to have a life. 

Too often we get caught up in the needs of others and we forget to focus on ourselves. We don’t participate in our own lives as much as we do those of our friends and family; we don’t invest in ourselves enough. We overcommit ourselves; taking on every task with gusto… but focusing little on ourselves. 

We have to learn to say no sometimes. It’s okay – it doesn’t hurt… trust me, I hear it all day long at work! But that’s alright – it doesn’t mean you don’t like someone (or maybe it does, I’m not judging) to tell them no… it means that you just can’t  do what they’re asking. 

You can’t be everything for everyone all of the time. You have to be in it for yourself once in awhile  You can’t give everything, when you have nothing. Don’t let the well run dry and learn to say no

Are you overcommitted? What’s one thing you just can’t say no to? 

 

8 thoughts on “A-Z Blogging Challenge – April 16

  1. It’s true, it doesn’t hurt to say no, but you’d never guess it from our general reluctance to do so. People do get themselves into the most entangled predicaments by virtue of that reluctance. We’re a funny species, aren’t we? Good luck with continuing to say no when you need to.

  2. I have to constantly remind myself to say no, or at least to “think about it,” because left to my own devices, “sure” is my knee-jerk response. I love to help, but I can’t do it all.

    Great blog. I’m glad I stopped by from the a to z challenge.

    • Thank you for stopping by! I too have to think before I answer because “yes” is so easy to say! The more you use that little word the easier it gets though!

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

