A-Z Blogging Challenge – April 11


a-to-z-letters-j

 

J is for Joyful

 

I used to dread getting up in the morning. Sometimes sleeping until late in the day. I would lay in bed for hours just hoping that it would swallow me up. I would stay up half the night to avoid going back to bed. I distracted myself with games and other things that didn’t mean a whole lot in the grand scheme of things… and for what?

Because I had no joy in my life. None. Zip. Nada.

I had things that made me happy in the short term, like my dogs and my kids. But even then I couldn’t seem to find real joy. I was stuck in my depression and no matter what I tried to do I stayed there. Nothing around me made me feel joyful.

Fast forward and here I am today. Joyful beyond my own imagination. I changed my circumstances and brought myself into a place where real true joy can be found.

I wake up before the alarm these days. I look forward to getting dressed and venturing out to see what the day may bring. I go to work with a sense of purpose and enjoyment. I go to bed at a decent hour, tired and fulfilled. I find joy in simple things like the cat playing with its toy mouse in the kitchen…

I have found that I can be joyful. I have found that my life is what I make it – and that I am responsible for my own happiness.

I’ve learned that true joy, real happiness is not something that you can buy, borrow, or steal. It is something that must be found and created around you. You have to make the choices necessary to find it. You have to actively participate in life.

I have started doing that. Participating in my own life. Living each day to its fullest potential and not letting any opportunity for joy slip through my fingers. You can and should do the same thing in your life. If you find yourself in a position of being joyless then you need to find your joy. Make the changes needed to do so. Do it now. Life is too short to live without joy.

What do you do to find true joy?

 

4 thoughts on “A-Z Blogging Challenge – April 11

  1. I’ve never had a problem with joy – I’m an optimist and have always valued the tiny things which lead to a whole load of wonderfulness – looking at the grains of sand being brought out from under the pavement by tiny ants, seeing the leaves change colour – petals in a pile of gold on the floor. But recently I did find another sort of peace and joy – my son became very stressed at Uni and was told by his counsellors to try Transcendental Meditation. we were very horrified and sceptical of their sanity! However, after being instructed, just one weekend later he was a different lad. So we enrolled to learn. And i have to say – it’s changed our lives. We are ven happier, more in love – it seems to give you the ability to forgive others and yourself, not to worry about the small stuff, gives you energy to tackle what needs to be done. We sleep better, we are awake in the evenings. An utter joy! Rather a long post, but you did ask!!

    Good luck with the rest of the A-Z! I’m doing animal poems and facts and often a drawing as well, I like to make things hard for myself.

    Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

  2. You show much wisdom in your posts here, and I am enjoying the opportunities to ponder. You are right about joy, we can’t find it and it won’t come find us, we have to create it in our lives, we have to take the initiative to view life in the positive perspective, joy is not a destination, it is a byproduct of a directed life. Great post!

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

