Creativity


This is the final post in the series based on Mama Kat’s workshop prompts for last Thursday.

Creativity:

the quality of being creative;

the ability to create.

 

A few years ago, I was into making jewelry. I made all kinds of necklaces, bracelets, and other things. I really enjoyed it – and my creative self was free and happy.

Now, I don’t do that any more… I became discouraged, and after losing everything I had and over $1000 worth of completed work I just gave up.

So often we do this in other things… for example – my youngest daughter grew up with a couple of kids (I’ll call them H & A for privacy reasons) that she was very close to. Now all them are in their 20’s and both H & A live a pretty “wild” lifestyle… two days ago, after posting a very dark poem about suicide on his FB page – A took his own life. He gave up. Obviously, he wasn’t being heard. He tried to reach out, but nobody listened. But, that’s no excuse to give up. If you’re passionate about music – you keep making music – it doesn’t matter if you’re the only one who hears it – you do it for yourself. The same goes with writing, singing, or any other creative talent.

It doesn’t matter if you aren’t being heard… you cannot give up!

I know that kind of sounds hypocritical given recent events in my life. But there is a big difference between giving up, and letting go. Letting go is the act of releasing from your life negatives that are not forwarding your well-being. This is what I did. If I was planning on giving up, I would have done so long before the 10 year mark. I would have quit 2 years in – because it was hard.

Letting go is one of the hardest things you can do. It means admitting that even though you did your best, you still were unable to make it work. It means putting that project in the proverbial can and leaving it alone. It means a lot of things, and not all of them are pleasant.

So, no matter what you are doing right now remember – don’t give up, but do let go when the time comes. To hold on to destructive things, relationships, or anything else is to stifle your creativity.

 

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

