Dear Diary


Chubby Cheeks Thinks
I have to say I love MamaKat’s Writers Workshop… she has the most amazing prompts that she sends out every week. Also on her “pretty much world famous” workshop she has a section for “Getting your inspiration on”. Whenever I’m feeling blah about writing, I just pop over and grab some inspiration. Today I found this one: Share a diary entry from when you were 13…feel free to make one up!

ALBERT GARRET

ALBERT GARRET (Photo credit: Zellaby)

I had a diary at 13, but I wasn’t very faithful about writing in it… And I’m pretty sure much of it concerned things like what hot guy I saw in Tiger Beat magazine or Shaun Cassidy, Leif Garret, or Rod Stewart and how I was gonna grow up and marry them.

I’d like to remember myself at 13 as a tiny bit deeper than that, so here’s my version of what my 13 year old self may have written in my diary.

Dear Diary,

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve written… that’s because mom decided we had to move because all of our family was in Florida instead of Tennessee. So now we’re living in a new house. It’s actually a house, with three bedrooms and a pool!

The pool is great and I’ve met some new friends, Toni and Lynn. They live right behind us and like to come swim in the pool. They have a little brother and sister John and Jackie who I don’t really like, but if they can’t swim neither can Toni or Lynn because their parents are dumb. John whines a lot, and Jackie is only 6 so she’s a baby.

Mom is dating again… some guy that came over to our house and said he knew daddy. I don’t like him. His name is Steve and he has a son named Farrell. Who names a kid Farrell anyway?  He’s dumb and has a mustache that makes him look dumb. I don’t know why mom has to date this guy, and I don’t really think he knew my daddy… because if he did he’d leave my mom and I alone. We don’t need anyone else – we need daddy back.

I don’t understand Diary, why daddy had to die so soon… and it was so close to my birthday, and I really miss him… and now mom doesn’t have enough time to even talk to me anymore because this stupid Steve is always here and hanging around. I don’t like the way he looks at me, so I stay away from him as much as possible. I think if daddy were still here he’d punch Steve in the face.

Mom is in school all the time now and she’s never home anymore. And she’s making me go to this crazy school for Christians that my Aunt Lynn said was a good idea. I guess I like it okay, I met some really nice people there… but we have Bible class and it is boring because all the teacher ever talks about is the Old Testament and he’s trying to teach us how to say the books of the Bible in Hebrew… it’s hard. I don’t think Daddy would have made me go to this school, I was doing just fine at my old school with my old friends.

Mom gave the Questover to Uncle Brian, and he moved it down here too… He said it’s really hard to sail such a small boat on the ocean so he might sell it. I don’t want to give up the Questover, that would be stupid. Daddy loved his boat, and it’s really all we have left of his now that we sold the house, van, and his cruising wagon to buy this stupid house and pool. Mom says we don’t need a boat because we can’t sail it without daddy, but I think she’s just sad that he’s gone and doesn’t want to.

When I grow up and get a job I think I’ll buy the boat back and then I will sail it around the world like the kid in that movie I saw The Dove. He was only 16 so that’s just in three years, I know I could do it!

Well diary, mom just came and told me I have to go to bed now so I can go to school tomorrow… Uggh…. stupid bedtimes. Anyway… more tomorrow!

Yeah, I’m pretty sure that’s what I would have written…

Shaun Cassidy (album)

Shaun Cassidy (album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Happy Friday!

One thought on “Dear Diary

  1. Your diary entry is very touching. I would like to think that I what I would have written as well, but I probably would have been writing about the hot boys in Tiger Beet too lol.

    Thanks for stopping by Theresa’s Mixed Nuts. I am a new Network blogs, twitter, and facebook follower 🙂
    Theresa

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

