Moving Forward


I don’t now who of you out there enjoy’s moving, but I’m here to tell you that I am not one of those people. I have never liked it, and probably never will like it. Now I find myself in the position to move, yet again – across three states to Northern Kentucky!

I’ve been a southern girl all my life – born and raised on the beaches of Florida, the farthest north I’ve ever lived has been the mountains of Western North Carolina… nothing compared to what I’m in for here come winter. I’m hoping I survive the snow and such… *gasp* snow… ick

This move is differing from every other move I’ve ever made in my life – how so, you may ask? Well, because I have nothing to do with the physical “moving” of stuff. I packed important boxes and stuff before I came up here to Kentucky to help my daughter out. So Shawn and the kids are on their own to pack boxes and load the truck.

This. has. been. hard. on. me.

I know a lot of people would be immensely happy if they were able to duck out of the manual labor involved in moving – I should be… but unfortunately, part of me – the terribly OCD, organization freak inside of me is losing it because I’m not there to supervise the packing of each and every box. I won’t be putting my neat little labels on the boxes to announce their contents… I won’t have one bit of say so in which stuff goes where in the truck… I have to let others control this … not something I’m good at – nor fond of.

I guess it’s just one more lesson I’m learning in this new journey – how to “let go” and give control to someone else for a change… I don’t know if I like this particular lesson, but there isn’t anything else to do about it – so I’m going to have to live with it!

More to come, the serious house hunting starts tomorrow! I’ll be sure to update!

One thought on “Moving Forward

  1. I do not like to move either. We moved so many times when I was growing up that I now hate just the thought of moving. Having mild OCD myself and with a daughter who has full blown OCD I can sympathize with you. I will be thinking of you and sending up prayers for you. Hugs

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

