i can has timeout now??!


Mama's Losin' It

Oh holy crap it’s Thursday already! WHERE did this week go?? Oh wait – I know… I’ve been getting Our Guy enrolled in school, allowing Realtors to crawl over my house, and recovering from baking the birthday cake from Zombieland.

So – this week’s writing prompts were:

1.) If you could do it over again…
2.) If you were put in “time out”, where would you want to be placed and why?
3.) Steppin outside the box (describe a time when you went way out of your comfort zone)
4.) A long drive…
5.) Describe the first date you went on in a boy’s car.

And I’ve decided that I’m writing about time out. Because I could really, really use a time out!

I’m pretty sure that at this point in time my kids would say I needed to go to time-out. I’m also pretty sure that if my children chose the location of this time out, it would most likely be on the surface of the sun. Ya’ll… it’s been a rough week, and I’ve been – shall we say – a bit testy. Therefore, my children have been getting chewed out more frequently… or maybe they’ve just been evil little monsters and I’ve had to react more frequently… who knows… I swear some days I live in a darned dog pack instead of a house with children. Where are my well behaved kids? Oh yeah, that’s right, the Hormones said they planned on keeping them for a few years. Geez…

But you know what, dear readers? School starts on Monday! I’m so stinking excited I cannot stand myself. I’m so ready for this year to begin, and my kids to be out of the house all day, that I am ready to burst!

Oh wait – I’m digressing aren’t I… needless to say, my idea of a time-out room would be totally less hazardous than the surface of the sun, totally.

My idea of the perfect time-out room would be a quiet, cool, corner containing a single chair – comfortable chair. The walls are a pale blue, nearly white. White sheer curtains in the French windows which are open enough to let a comfortable breeze through. I can see the curtains stand out from the windows as the wind blows… My time-out room has plush sand colored carpet in which my feet sink when I walk across the room. Of course a bookshelf in the corner would contain only the best reading materials, things I could read over and over again. I anticipate spending a lot of time here, so I want good reading material. Throw in a table and reading light, and I’m all set to spend an hour or two in time out!

This time out space would do the same for me, that the kids time-out space does for them, only on a slightly more refined level. If mommy gets a cool and quiet place to read for a while, then she doesn’t have the desire to have a meltdown while cooking dinner, or a temper tantrum when Daddy forgets the milk… again.

Yep, send me to my room why don’tcha… just don’t expect to see me again any time soon! I know when I’m being taught a very important lesson!

Happy Thursday!

So what about you? What does your time out place look like??

This post is written in participation of the Writers Workshop at Mama’s Losin It!. If you would like to participate, click the button above, and join the fun. Make sure to link back to your post using the linky on Mama Kat’s site! As always, share the love and leave a comment!
Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

