30 Day Blog Journal – Day 15


So today is Day 15 and should be my “dream house”.  *SIGH* I love dreaming about the house I really really want.

So here we go folks…

My dream house will be located on the French Broad River in the mountains of Western North Carolina. I will have a Gazebo situated near enough the bank that the cool breezes blowing over the water in the summer are propelled through it when it’s hot. I will have all manner of flowering bush: Azalea, Rhododendron, Mountain Laurel, and Butterfly Bush. My yard will be filled with Japanese Iris, Dahlias, Gladiolus, Tulips, and other flowers. I will have trees – Weeping Cherry (preferably dipping it’s branches in the river right over a lovely large rock for sunning), Magnolia, and Gardenia.

The house itself will feature a wrap around veranda with humming bird feeders at every turn. My front porch will be white, furnished with wrought iron couches, a swing, and rocking chairs.

The front entry to the house will have beautiful tile floors, a mirrored preachers bench, and a welcoming soft rug to cuddle your feet as you step out of your shoes. Leaving the tiled entry to the left will be my kitchen. Tiled with river stone, it will feature granite counter tops, a bar sink in the island and rich cherry cabinets. The upper cabinets will be glass fronted and lighted to display my great grandmothers china. I will have all the wonderful cabinet expansion tools store my utensils. The backsplash will be reclaimed glass in sea colors rich blues and greens. In the center of my kitchen will be a lovely granite island with my oven, a pot filler, and a wrought iron pot rack above. There will be under cabinet lighting all around including under the floor cabinets. I will have a copper chimney style range hood above the stove that features an indoor grill and griddle.

In the “eat-in” part of the kitchen there will be a huge bay window overlooking the small but well appointed back yard. French doors will open to the cool breezes and allow quick access to the amenities of the yard.

To the left of the front door will be the living room. Lush Berber carpet on the floors and wonderfully comfortable chairs and couch to snuggle in and watch television or the roaring fire in the rock face fire place. Through the living room will be my master suite.

In the master suite, my bed will be centered in a beautiful little alcove with windows and a skylight so that I can watch the stars from my bed at night. There will be two walk-in closets (his and hers). The furniture will be cherry finish. The bed a 4-poster king adorned with pale blue and white gauzey curtains. The carpet will be a luxurious pile in deep ocean blue. The walls will be a pale blue with tan to mimic the ocean and sand. Pale green and cream will accent.

The tile in the bathroom will be a beautiful emerald green. Vessel sinks on green marble counters with wall mounted copper faucets. I will have soap dispensers built into the counter. My shower will be the same emerald green tile. It will be multi-jet with a rain head.

There will be one guest bedroom, with a small bonus room and bathroom as well. This will be decorated in the style of a luxury hotel – with the bonus room being decorated to fit grandchildren.

So there you have it friends… my dream house! One day I may get it – then again, maybe I’ll just buy a boat and sail the Bahamas.

3 thoughts on “30 Day Blog Journal – Day 15

  1. This was so much fun to read, and your dream home sounds amazing!!! I love the way you write to.
    Thanks for visiting my blog for potluck friday.

  2. Sounds divine! …the house or the boat- they both sound soooo inviting and so relaxing.

    I wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog and writing about your own personal situation. It’s so nice to meet someone that can relate to our unique (or not so unique) situations. I really look forward to getting to know you better.

    Thanks again…

    http://www.homemakershelper.wordpress.com

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

