30-Day Blog Journal – Day 13


Well it’s day 13, and 13 is supposed to be unlucky… I’ve never noticed a difference really… But I digress – Day 12 is A Fictional Book…

I am assuming that this means my Favorite fictional book – but if you’ve been following me, you know that I don’t often settle for just one of anything… so without further ado – my favorite fictional books:

  • Guilty Pleasures – Laurell K. Hamilton: If you haven’t read her Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series, and you like vampires (not sparkly, walk in the sun, drive your daughter to school vampires; these are metaphysical vamps, and awfully good), werewolves (not the change in midair, CGI, Fix your daughters motorcycle werewolves either… a lot of them are strippers, and most of them are pretty darned hot) then this series is so for you. This is the first book in the series, and the one that made me fall in love with Anita, Jean-Claude, and Richard…
  • The Powers that Be – Anne McCaffery – awesome sci-fi novel, from a series that is also wonderful.
  • The Vampire Chronicles – Anne Rice – ’nuff said
  • Christine – Stephen King – there is just something about a rabid ’57 Chevy that got my attention, and held it tight. My brother (coincidentally) was in the process of rebuilding a red and white ’57 Chevy at the time this book hit the stands…
  • A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole – this novel is an incredibly hard read, but is one of the most awesomely written books I’ve ever read. JK Toole committed suicide in 1969; his mother found the book in his belongings and it took her until 1980 to get someone to publish it. The novel won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1981 – 12 years after its author passed. The book is well worth the read!

So that’s my list of favorite books tomorrow will be a non-fictional book – trying to think of something non-fiction that I love…

One thought on “30-Day Blog Journal – Day 13

  1. Pingback: Blog Journal « Magimom's Mom Stuff

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

