Thursday means one day closer…


Ok, so I got absolutely nothing done today! Nothing, nada, zip, zilch, and  ZERO! Not that I just laid around on my tail bone and played Assasins Creed on the XBox 360 for three hours this morning or anything… well, ok so maybe I did, but that’s OK, it’s summer, right?

So, my son is going to Bonaroo this week. In case you don’t know what Bonaroo is, I’ll explain as best I can. (Click the link to be directed to the website). Anyway – Bonaroo or Roo is a four day music festival in a field in Manchester, TN.

The music offered is incredibly diverse – I mean seriously check this out – here are a few of the bands playing this week:

  • Dave Matthews Band (SQUEEEEEE)
  • Tenacious D (seriously??)
  • John Fogerty
  • Jeff Beck
  • Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers (and yes this is the same Steve Martin who picked out the thermos) Which Movie?

Also some bands I’ve never, ever heard of!:

  • The Flaming Lips performing Dark Side of the Moon featuring Stardeath and White Dwarfs (WHO?????)
  • Big Sam’s Funky Nation
  • Blitzen Trapper (ROFL)
  • Jonathan Sexton & The Big Love Choir

Oh and one of my FAVORITE bands will be there – the Dropkick Murphys!

Anyway – his tickets came in the mail on Monday:

Of course this is a slightly edited version for his Facebook status… but I guess you get the idea. He was super excited all week, but it came to a near catastrophic let down for him.

He’s taking S from the party a few weeks ago – remember her?

Let me remind you:

Well a friend of the lovely S is attending as well, and offered to drive. The young lady apparently had some sort of fight with her boyfriend that almost cost the whole trip. All $500 worth of tickets, that it’s too late to sell (the show starts tomorrow morning at 7:30 when the gates open), and all the other expense he’s gone to including water, beer, food, and camping stuff. He planned a great weekend for them. Anyway – they finally got out of here about 11:30 tonight, and are leaving EARLY in the morning for Tennessee – thankfully it’s only about 2.5 hours from us, but the line will be 3 -4 hours long to get in, so they’re hoping to get there fairly early to get in line.

He came and hugged me and told me he love me before he left – which made me smile. It is so neat to me that at 22, with friends watching, he still thinks to tell his mom good bye and that he loves me. I feel special!

So, that’s about the most excitement I’ve seen all week, and I’m glad for it! Back to the mundane of packing and prepping this house to sell!

Have a wonderful Thursday!

2 thoughts on “Thursday means one day closer…

  1. got your blog from Follow Friday 40 and over. never heard of this festival. sounds interesting, familiar with some of the performers others not. it sounds like it will be great .

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

