Manic Monday


Six o’clock already
I was just in the middle of a dream
I was kissin’ Valentino
By a crystal blue Italian stream
But I can’t be late
‘Cause then I guess I just won’t get paid
These are the days
When you wish your bed was already made

It’s just another manic Monday
I wish it was Sunday
‘Cause that’s my funday
My I don’t have to runday
It’s just another manic Monday

Have to catch an early train
Got to be to work by nine
And if I had an air-o-plane
I still couldn’t make it on time
‘Cause it takes me so long
Just to figure out what I’m gonna wear
Blame it on the train
But the boss is already there

All of the nights
Why did my lover have to pick last night
To get down
Doesn’t it matter
That I have to feed the both of us
Employment’s down
He tells me in his bedroom voice
C’mon honey, let’s go make some noise
Time it goes so fast
When you’re having fun

~The Bangles

Yep, that’s where I was – although it looked more like Vin Diesel in my dream – a little while I go… I was still dreaming. Then I remembered it was Monday, and we’re taking today and tomorrow to get this house ready for “show” and on Wednesday we’re putting the big “For Sale – by Owner” sign out front.

Yesterday, I disgorged my banquette and packed my great-grandmothers antique china.

I had a wonderful bout of imagination as I always do when handling this stuff. I have two different patterns, from two great grandmothers who meant the world to me.

I can imagine their diminutive forms slaving over  a hot stove in a quiet 1940’s house, serving their new husband dinner on these fabulously beautiful, delicate, china plates.

Over the years many pieces have been lost, this china is old – really, really old. Mimi, who was 105 when she passed away 22 years ago, her china was made in 1948. For 62 years this china has survived our family! Amazing that it survived the 5 grandchildren and great grandchild it went through first. Even more amazing that I’ve had it for 20 years and am only missing one piece since it was given over to me!

This is the pattern of my “Mimi” dishes as we call them:

Georgian Eggshell - circa 1945

The other dishes I have were my Nana Deckers, and they’re older – like 20 years older, and I have fewer of these. They apparently did not survive the grandchildren as well as Mimi’s did.

Compote Dish with Lid - Sebring Ivory Porcelain - Circa 1929

22k gold stamp on back of Compote Bowl - US Patent 224-1929

So, in 1929 or 1930 my other great-grandmother was given these beautiful dishes as a gift. I am pretty sure she had the entire set at one time, but then I remember a moving accident when they came from Indiana to Florida when I was about 3 years old. This could be what happened to the rest of these pieces. I know that my grandmother gave all this to my mother when she and my dad got married, and we’ve had it every since – 44 years now.

I think of the excitement both of the women in my past must have felt when choosing their “formal” china pattern! The giddy giggles, the sighs as they looked… it comes to me in short images of beautiful women dressed well, trolling the department stores for the perfect china pattern for their new lives as married women. How exciting it must have been for them to unwrap these precious pieces and place them in china cabinets for all to see.

And now I also see the differences in these two women who helped to shape my father into who he was. The china definitely fit the personality as I saw it of them both. Mimi was light, sweet, happy, and very informal. She never met a stranger, and always had a kind word for everyone. Nana Decker was much more formal and staid. She was not at all laid back, and she was just tiny bit “uptight” for lack of a better word. She was raised in a totally different time and place, being from the north, and she didn’t have the sweet southern belle  in her at all. I loved both of them, but I have to say of the two, my favorite had to be Mimi… she was the fun one – and when you are a child, fun is the key to happiness.

So, now that I’ve spent the morning ruminating over my china, and my grandmothers – it is time to get to work! Thanks for taking the time to read today, and please – stop by my Facebook page – you can access it from the link on the right (the wooden F) or here! Become a Liker and never miss an update!

Have a wonderful Monday!

2 thoughts on “Manic Monday

Show some love, it's greatly appreciated!

